E-Databases 
                         

      A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

info Database
Africa-Wide: NiPAD
African Healthline
Aluka
Artbibliographies Modern
Art Full Text
Biotechnology Bio-engineering Abstracts
Butterworths arbitration awards
CINAHL with Full Text
Compendex
Croner-i Health & Safety Expert
DataMonitor
Design and Applied Arts Index
EbscoHost                                                                              

Business Source Complete
Regional Business News (USA)
Newspaper Source (USA)
MasterFILE Premier (Public Libraries Resource)
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Health Source - Nursing/Academic edition
Clinical Pharmacology (USA prescription & other drugs)
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
ERIC
Medline
CINAHL
 

Emerald Fulltext                                                                                    
Food Science & Technology Abstracts
Informaworld
IR Network
 

JSTOR                                                                                                  
Juta's Environmental Library
Juta's Labour Library
Klimt02
LexisNexis: labour law through the cases
Official SAIR directory online
Oxford English Dictionary
ProQuest                                                                           
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Academic Research Library
ProQuest Education Journals
ProQuest Research Library
Career & Technical Education
ProQuest Agriculture Journals
ProQuest Biology Journals
ProQuest Computing
ProQuest Health & Medical Complete
ProQuest Medical Library
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
ProQuest Psychology Journals
ProQuest Science Journals
ProQuest Social Science Journals
ProQuest Telecommunications
U.S. National Newspaper Abstracts
Research review service
 

Sabinet Online Reference                                                                   
 

SA ePublications                                                                                 
ScienceDirect                                                                          
Small Business Resource Center
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
 

SpringerLink                                                                             
Taxnet
Water Resources Worldwide
Web of Science

=================================================================================

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry                                                     

Business, Economics: trade and industry periodicals and newsletters

Search more than 750 business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. Provides users with the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more.

  back to database list

 

Academic Search Premier

The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier  provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

 

 

Academic Research Library

Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.

 

 

Africa-Wide: NiPAD

This new information resource provides information and inspiration to support The New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD).

Access 2 million records with full-text links   

Africa-Wide is a combination of two of NISC’s most well-known and popular databases:

South African Studies and African Studies

All you need to know about Africa in one database

back to database list

 

 

Art Full Text

is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.

 

 

Biotechnology Abstracts: Agricultural & Environmental

published by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, Biotechnology Abstracts: Agricultural & Environmental gathers the world literature in which 1molecular biology and genetics are applied to these areas. Coverage includes agricultural products involving both plants and animals, new applications across the food industry, and wide-ranging environmental developments. Plant genome studies, now the focus of major research initiatives around the world, are examined in detail. Approximately 3,600 abstracts, drawn from journal articles, conference proceedings, monographs, technical reports, and other sources, are added each year.

 

 

Business Source Complete

This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.

back to database list

 

Career and Technical Education

Search vocational and technical periodicals covering all aspects of the Vo/Tech curriculum

 

 

CINAHL with Full Text

provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical

 innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
 


Clinical Pharmacology

provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically-relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs. 

back to database list

 

 

Compendex

Provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for journal articles, conferences and reports in all engineering fields: covers worldwide engineering and technical literature from 1970 to date, as well as related fields in science. 

 


Croner-I Health and Safety Expert

CRONER-i Health and Safety Expert is a comprehensive online service providing in-depth legislative and compliance information, guidance and advice, sample forms and policies, news, key HSE and other official documents and more.

Recent additions to the site include:

 

DataMonitor

Information on 10000 companies, 2000 industries and 50 countries

DataMonitor is a business information company specializing in industry analysis. A description of countries economic performance and GDP is also available.

Each company profile contains:  company and business description, history, key employees, SWOT analysis, competitors, etc. 

back to database list

 

 

Design and Applied Arts Index

contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making it the largest index of its kind in the world. Research articles are covered, along with topical news items, conference and seminar reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews. Each reference includes full bibliographic details and a brief abstract.

 

 

Dissertations & Theses: The Sciences and Engineering

Doctoral dissertations and master's theses are a vital fund of scholarship for any discipline. The massive body of work available through ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) represents the most comprehensive source of academic research in the world.

A comprehensive collection of scholarly research in the Sciences and Engineering, this database covers more than 1.7 million dissertations and theses.

 


EBSCO Information Services is a worldwide leader in providing information access and management solutions through print and electronic journal subscription services, research database development and production, online access to more than 100 databases and thousands of e-journals, and e-commerce book procurement.
 

 

Emerald Fulltext

Emerald currently publishes more than 160 journal titles in the fields of management, information science and engineering.

1996 Emerald Fulltext was launched. A dynamic database product, Emerald Fulltext today offers an expanding collection of over 50,000 articles (2004) from titles published by Emerald. The articles in Emerald Fulltext are downloaded 5 times more often than the industry average, demonstrating the value of Emerald content to our users.

 


Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems
The Largest On-line Encyclopedia 
A virtual dynamic library equivalent to 200 volumes

The EOLSS body of knowledge is an integrated compendium of sixteen encyclopedias. It attempts to forge pathways between disciplines in order to show their interdependence and helps foster the transdisciplinary aspects of the relationship between nature and human society. It deals in detail with interdisciplinary subjects, but it is also disciplinary as each major core subject is covered in great depth, by world experts.

 

ERIC

the Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.

back to database list

 

 

FSTA

The International Food Information Service (IFIS) produces Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA), which contains over 500,000 references; annual updates add approximately 18,000 references per year. FSTA covers all areas of food science, food technology, and human nutrition, including basic food science, biotechnology, toxicology, packaging, and engineering.

Some 1800 publications in over 40 languages are scanned regularly, including journals, reviews, standards, legislation, patents, books, theses, and conference proceedings. Abstracts with complete bibliographic details are produced from these original sources. Sources of all the materials abstracted are listed together with instructions for full text document delivery. Available search aids include a Thesaurus and lists of journals covered regularly.

 

 

Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index

is the premier resource for access to articles about plants and gardens. Topics include horticulture, garden and landscape design and history, botany, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. This index and abstract product is designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design and history. Indexed and abstracted are more than 300 core titles, the majority of which are published in English.

 

 

Health & Medical Complete

Designed to serve a wide range of people who need health information -- from hospital administrators to medical professionals to consumers.

The database provides coverage from leading health journals and essential medical journals in key medical specialties.

back to database list

 

Health Source - Consumer Edition

This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition/ features more than 130 full text, consumer health magazines. This database is updated on a daily basis.

 

 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.

 

 

 

Hospitality & Tourism Complete

covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 500,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 200 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.

back to database list

IR Network
IR Network is an online service which enables HR and legal practitioners to operate effectively in the field of Labour Law.

IR Network contains comprehensive databases of information, but finding content is made easy by editorial identification and comment upon important cases and sources and the use of latest web technologies, which provides users with effective searching tools and "drill-down" browsing capabilities.

Carl Mischke an independent labour law and labour relations consultant in Johannesburg, renowned for his books and articles on labour law, is the contributing editor on IR Network.
 

 

JSTOR

a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, that provides access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

 


Juta's Environmental Library
is available on CD-ROM, the Internet and as part of an Intranet Solution. Updated on a quarterly basis, this Library is a general collection rather than a specialist work. It covers a wide range of South African environmental legislation and relevant cases and contains an overview of what may be considered essential environmental measures. The content includes both national and provincial legislation and various White Papers and International Conventions. Also included are the DWAF Minimum Requirements for handling and disposal of waste. Bills are also reproduced to alert subscribers to potential legislative changes.”
 

Juta's Labour Library
This electronic publication contains a collection of legislation. Included is Juta’s Industrial Law Journal – the premier reporter of the mass of labour decisions handed down annually in South Africa – and covers judgments handed down by the Labour Court, Labour Appeal Court, CCMA and Bargaining Council, from 1980 to date (as edited by Paul Benjamin, Halton Cheadle, Barney Jordaan, Clive Thompson, David Woolfrey and Christine Vosloo, with Edwin Cameron as Consulting Editor). Also included is the Industrial Court Digest (edited by Clive Thompson), the Labour Court Digest from 1992 to 1997 (edited by Barney Jordaan, Susan Stelzner and David Woolfrey) and the Labour Law Digest from 1998 to date (edited by June Wilson). Also contains a regularly updated electronic version of John Grogans Workplace Law.”
 
LexisNexis: Labour law through the cases
“Several years ago Theuns Viljoen, Publishing Director of Butterworths, came up with the idea of a reference work that would point labour lawyers towards “good law” amidst the changing terrain of labour jurisprudence. Labour Law Through the Cases was born from that idea.

The work sets out to provide a summary of judicial interpretations of South African labour statutes on a section-by-section basis. It is not a textbook, in that it does not try to provide a scholarly commentary or argue for the authors’ points of view. Nor does it try to reflect in any detail on the reasons for judicial decisions, which would have given the work an unmanageable volume. The central aim is to offer ready access to the case-law as it is and thereby, we hope, provide labour lawyers with a common starting point in the development of new arguments.”
 

 

MasterFILE Premier

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,730 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags.

 

 

MEDLINE

provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

 

 

Newspaper Source

provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

back to database list

 

 

ProQuest Agriculture Journals

Science, Agriculture: Journals and magazines

Search full-text journals in agriculture and related fields

 

 

ProQuest Biology Journals

Science, Biology: Journals and magazines

Search full-text journals in the life sciences.

 

 

ProQuest Computing

Search top computing journals in full text for research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet.

 

 

ProQuest Education Journals

Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields.

back to database list

 

ProQuest Medical Library

Search a comprehensive database combining MEDLINE indexing with full images for more than 200 key medical titles. Offers coverage of all the major healthcare specialties, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, and others.

 

 

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source

Nursing, Allied Health: Journals, Magazines

Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing programs at academic institutions.

 

 

ProQuest Psychology Journals

With complete full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications, this database meets the needs of both students and mental-health professionals

 

 

ProQuest Science Journals

Science, Technology: Journals and magazines

Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.

back to database list

 

 

ProQuest Social Science Journals

Search full-text periodicals covering the social sciences.

 

 

ProQuest Telecommunications

Science, Technology: Journals and magazines

Search the full text of top telecommunications industry publications. Includes magazines, journals, and newsletters for the latest in this fast changing industry.

 

 

Regional Business News

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

back to database list

 

 

SA ePublications

This service, which is the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic South African journals in the world, focuses on making journals published in South Africa available online.

The interest that the SA ePublications service has generated among South African publishers and editors alike has allowed Sabinet Online to grow the service at a phenomenal rate. The service currently includes 206 publications, with new publications being added on an ongoing basis.

 

 

South African Industrial Relations Directory (SAIRD)

has been designed to work hand-in-hand with the printed Directory and together they form the most comprehensive industrial relations information service ever designed in SA. The site forms a one-stop-shop for the whole of South Africa’s labour market needs and has been created with speed and user friendliness in mind.

Now, every organisation in the nation, large or small, and management, from most senior right down the line, have a site dedicated to giving them the exact labour and industrial relations information they need when they need it.

 

 

 

 

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect® is the essential information resource for millions of scientists around the world.

ScienceDirect is the world's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.

A rich journals collection is supplemented by relevant abstract databases to expand literature searches further and a growing program of online reference works.

-

Over 1,800 journals from Elsevier including top titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron

Over 6 million articles and over 60 million abstracts from all fields of science 

back to database list

 

 

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 415 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Of those, nearly 250 have cover-to-cover indexing in SPORTDiscus. With more than 700,000 full-text articles dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports and sports medicine literature.

 

 

SpringerLink

The SpringerLink Online Journal collection includes more than 1,200 peer-reviewed journals, comprising more than 600,000 individual documents. Most titles include complete back issues to 1996, with digital conversion of all back issues under way, making every title available from Volume I, Issue I.

back to database list

 

 

Taxnet

is destined to become the leading local on-line resource for the Tax Specialist. TaxNET contains a wealth of information updated daily, to keep you abreast of the latest legislative developments, up-to-the minute Case Law, the very latest South African Revenue Services Media Statements, Practice Notes, SARS contact details and the Katz Commission Reports

 

 

U.S. National Newspaper Abstracts (3)

Abstracts and indexing for New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal, included with a subscription to Academic Research Library.

 

 

 

Water Resources Worldwide

provides the exceptional value and convenience of three of the world's major water-resource databases plus powerful searching using the WATERLIT thesaurus. South Africa's WATERLIT, Canada's AQUAREF, and the Netherlands' DELFT HYDRO provide more than  561,440 citations and abstracts -- oceans of vital water-research information. Automated thesaurus based searching helps you find any topic with ease.

 

 

 

Web of Science

Over 25,000 articles and 500,000 cited references are fully indexed and added to Web of Science every week. They are indexed completely, consistently and accurately. They present you with the most current information published --— even more current than databases that update on a daily basis.

back to database list

© copyright 2007         DUT Home                                Library Home                          Contact Webmaster